Main page



Thursday, October 22, 2020: Friday, October 23, 2020:
9amWelcome speech
Prof. Dr. Bannier
9am - 10 amKeynote speech
Prof. Dr. Andersen
Professor of Finance
Copenhagen Business School
9:10am – 10:40amSession: Corporate Governance 10am – 10:15amCoffee break
10:40am – 11amCoffee break 10:15am – 11:45amSession: Behavioral Finance - Investor Behavior
11am – 12:30pmSession: Behavioral Economics 11:45am – 12pmBest Paper Award
Sponsor: Sparkasse Giessen
12:30pm – 1:30pmLunch break 12pm – 12:15pmClosing remarks
Prof. Dr. Wöhrmann
1:30pm – 3pmSession: Behavioral
Finance – Institutions
- End of conference -


Session: Corporate Governance

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Winker

1. The Market for Corporate Control as a Limit to Short Arbitrage
9:10am – 9:40am

Costanza Meneghetti (Colorado State University), Ryan Williams* (University of Arizona), Steven Chong Xiao (University of Texas at Dallas)
Discussant: Andrej Gill

2. Skills and Sentiment in Sustainable Finance
9:40am – 10:10am

Andreas Brøgger, Alexander Kronies* (Copenhagen Business School)
Discussant: Ryan Williams

3. Borrowing against the (Un)Known: Patent Portfolios and Leverage
10:10am – 10:40am

Andrej Gill* (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz), David Heller (Max Planck Institute für Innovation and Competition)
Discussant: Alexander Kronies

Session: Behavioral Economics

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Tillmann

1. Attention Triggers and Investors’ Risk-Taking
11pm – 11:30am

Marc Arnold (University of St. Gallen), Matthias Pelster*(University of Paderborn), Marti G. Subrahmanyam (Stern School of Business, New York University)
Discussant: Tapas Tanmaya Mohapatra

2. Experience-Based Heterogeneity in Expectations and Monetary Policy
11:30am – 12pm

Lucas Radke, Florian Wicknig* (University of Cologne)
Discussant: Matthias Pelster

3. Donald Trump, investor attention and financial markets
12pm – 12:30pm

Monika Gehde-Trapp, Tapas Tanmaya Mohapatra* (University of Hohenheim)
Discussant: Florian Wicknig

Session: Behavioral Finance – Institutions

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Walter

1. When Depositors Read the News - The Impact of Media Coverage on Depositor Behaviour
1:30pm – 2pm

Doron Reichmann*, Nico Lempsch (Ruhr University Bochum)
Discussant: Mikael Paaso

2. CFO Overconfidence, Gender, and Shareholder Activism
2pm – 2:30pm

Nicolas Schreiber*, Dirk Schiereck (Technical University Darmstadt)
Discussant: Doron Reichmann

3. Trust in Finance and Consumer FinTech Adoption
2:30pm – 3pm

Deniz Okat (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology), Mikael Paaso* (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Vesa Pursiainen (The University of Hong Kong)
Discussant: Nicolas Schreiber

Session: Behavioral Finance - Investor Behavior

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Bannier

1. Stock Repurchasing Bias of Mutual Funds
10:15am – 10:45am

Mengqiao Du*, Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi (University of Mannheim), Terrance Odean (Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley)
Discussant: Tobias Lauter

2. A Surprise That Keeps You Awake: Overnight Returns After Earnings Announcements
10:45am – 11:15am

Fabian Gamm* (University of Mannheim)
Discussant: Mengqiao Du

3. Conscientiousness and Performance: The Influence of Personality on Investment Decisions
11:15am – 11:45am

Tobias Lauter* (Leibniz University Hannover), Marcel Prokopczuk (Leibniz University Hannover), Stefan Trück (Macquarie University)
Discussant: Fabian Gamm

Conference Committees

Scientific Committee

Prof Dr Christina E. Bannier
Prof Dr Corinna Ewelt-Knauer
Prof Dr Peter Tillmann
Prof Dr Andreas Walter
Prof Dr Peter Winker
Prof Dr Arnt Wöhrmann

Organizing Committee

Prof Dr Christina E. Bannier
David Finck
Kim J. Heyden
Dr Thomas Heyden
Björn Rock
Darwin Semmler

Keynote Speech

The keynote speech was given by Prof Steffen Andersen (Professor of Finance at Copenhagen Business School).


BFGA 2019

Read a report on the 1st Conference on Behavioral Research in Finance, Governance, and Accounting in 2019.

Legal notice & Privacy Policy